Human Trafficking

January 26 – February 1 has been declared National Human Trafficking Awareness Week in NC by our governor!
Click here if you are interested in learning more!

In March, 2012, the membership of the Junior League of Charlotte voted to adopt the following position statement and public stand against human trafficking.

Junior League of Charlotte Position Statement on Human Trafficking

As approved by the Advocacy and Public Awareness Committee on January 18, 2012

The Junior League of Charlotte, Inc. (JLC) opposes human trafficking in all its forms. The JLC supports programs and legislation aimed at preventing the importation and detainment of children, women and men for the purposes of exploitation. Additionally, we are committed to advocating for victim services for those affected by human trafficking and to educating our membership and greater community on this issue.

Public Stand approved at the March 2012 GMM:

The Junior League of Charlotte, Inc. stands behind North Carolina Senate Bill 547 and the creation of a North Carolina Human Trafficking Commission.


Creates the 18 member NC Human Trafficking Commission (Commission) within the Department of Administration. Specifies the Commission’s powers, including suggesting policies, procedures, or legislation to further the work of eradicating human trafficking and contributing to education efforts so that human traffickers can be prosecuted and victim-survivors can receive services. Details member appointment, terms and filling of vacancies. Appropriates $100,000 for 2011-12 and $100,000 for 12-13 from the General Fund to the Department of Administration to support the Commission. Effective July 1, 2011.


Youth 4 Abolition, Prevention Program, is reaching out to North Carolina residents asking them to help get NC House Bill 855 – Human Trafficking, considered by the NC Senate Judiciary Committee in the upcoming 2014 Short Session of the NC General Assembly. Click here to read more about HB855

NC House Bill 855 addresses several important issues dealing with human trafficking. There is strong interest in the sections of HB855 that address the need to get curriculum and training materials in to our high schools and middle schools.

Please contact our local law makers and ask them to consider HB855 in the 2014 Short Session. Below is a list of all the members of the committee to contact. HB855 meets the criteria for consideration under the adjournment criteria.

2014 North Carolina Senate Judiciary Committee Members


Senator Thom Goolsby (Rep) – District 9 – New Hanover     (910) 763-3339


Senator E. S. (Buck) Newton (Rep) – District 11 – Johnston, Nash, Wilson    (919) 715-3030


1. Senator Tom Apodaca (Rep) – District 48 – Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania   (919) 733-5745

2. Senator Tamara Barringer (Rep) – District 17 – Wake  (919) 733-5653

3. Senator Dan Blue (Dem) – District 14 – Wake  (919) 733-5752

4. Senator Harry Brown (Rep) – District 6 – Jones, Onslow   (919) 715-3034

5. Senator Daniel G. Clodfelter (Dem) – District 37 –  Mecklenburg   (919) 715-8331

6. Senator Kathy Harrington (Rep) – District 43 – Gaston   (919) 733-5734

7. Senator Clark Jenkins (Dem) – District 3 – Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Hertford, Martin, Northampton, Tyrrell, Washington   (919) 715-3040

8. Senator Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr. (Dem) – District 49 – Buncombe   (919) 715-3001

9. Senator Earline W. Parmon (Dem) – District 32 – Forsyth   (919) 733-5620

10. Senator Bob Rucho (Rep) – District 39 – Mecklenburg   (919) 733-5655

11. Senator Norman W. Sanderson (Rep) – District 2 – Carteret, Craven, Pamlico   (919) 733-5706

12. Senator Dan Soucek (Rep) – District 45 – Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Watauga   (919) 733-5742

13. Senator Josh Stein (Dem) – District 16 – Wake   (919) 715-6400

14. Senator Jerry W. Tillman (Rep) – District 29 –   Moore, Randolph   (919) 733-5870

15.  Senator Trudy Wade (Rep) – District 27 – Guilford   (919) 733-5856

Reference:  NC House Bill 855 – Human Trafficking , unanimously passed in the 2013 NC House and was sent to NC Senate Judiciary Committee on May 16, 2013.